Knowledge base

1000 FAQs, 500 tutorials and instructional videos. Here, there are only solutions!

Discover the new version of the kDrive Infomaniak app

Update 09/01/2026

This guide explains how the new kDrive v4 application from Infomaniak works.

 

Introduction

  • kDrive v4 is not just a simple graphical update of the previous version; its interface and navigation have been completely redesigned, while retaining the main synchronization features already available.
  • Most of the basic principles remain valid and should be understood in order to master kDrive.

 

What's new in kDrive v4 for macOS and Windows

Your kDrive v3.x app has now been updated to v4, which mainly introduces the following changes:

 

A completely redesigned and more readable interface

  1. Upon installation, the kDrive Windows application icon is added to your desktop.
  2. The application window can be freely positioned and resized; it provides simplified access to the status of your synchronizations.
  3. The icon of the open application is displayed in your taskbar (you can make it persistent via the context menu).
  4. Whether the main window is open or closed, kDrive continues to synchronize in the background, and its icon is displayed on Windows among the running services in the bottom right corner of your screen (without any specific color), and in the top right corner on macOS:

 

HOME: welcome to the new Infomaniak app for kDrive

After upgrading to kDrive v4 on Windows

or on macOS

find your synchronization information in the Home section, as well as shortcuts to:

  1. the online version (kDrive Web) of your favorites and shares
  2. the online version (kDrive Web) of your deleted files (still visible in the trash until it is emptied – no particular changes to these deletion actions):
    • You delete a file on the web app, it is moved and visible in the trash of the web app:
      • This action is synchronized, so the file will also be moved to the trash on synchronized devices.
    • You delete a file among the synchronized data on your macOS/Windows device, it is moved and visible in the macOS/Windows trash:
      • This action is synchronized, so the file will also be moved to the trash in the kDrive web app.
  3. the search for files
  4. pausing synchronization

 

ACTIVITIES: a dedicated view for synchronization operations and potential issues

  1. The Activity menu displays the latest operations that have occurred (new file synchronization, deletion, etc.).
  2. A red dot indicates warnings related to potential synchronization errors.
  3. The button to correct errors provides details about the current issues.
  4. A menu allows you to filter activities based on your personal usage.

 

STORAGE: clearer management of the space occupied by your data

  • The Storage menu allows you to view the space occupied by kDrive on your hard drive (which will be more or less depending on whether Lite Sync is enabled or not) and to see the available space on your computer.

 

SETTINGS: to help you quickly configure your kDrive (or kDrives)

General

  1. Version and update, Beta program
  2. Language settings
  3. Automatically start kDrive when the computer starts
  4. Manage notifications in case of an event
  5. To choose whether deleting a file in the web app or the mobile app should move the file synchronized with this desktop app to the computer's recycle bin, activate the toggle switch.
  6. Link to Infomaniak support
  7. Suggest an improvement idea

 

Account & synchronization management: centralized navigation between your different kDrive accounts

  • One login ID can be used for multiple kDrives (and you can choose which ones to synchronize).
  • Other login IDs can be entered to synchronize more kDrives on the same device.
  • Once identified, the different kDrive accounts are accessible at the top left of the interface:
    • They can be managed directly from the settings:

 

Advanced settings

  1. Synchronization rules (see the dedicated chapter at the bottom of this guide)
  2. Tracking information and settings
  3. Proxy configuration (optional)
  4. Log management / Debug
  5. Version number & licenses

 

Recover your synchronizations after the update

Your kDrive folders, accessible from the Windows File Explorer (on the left below) and their synchronized equivalent on Infomaniak servers (on the right below), are accessible with a single click from the home page:

The principle is the same on macOS.

 

Troubleshooting a missing file issue

In this example, you will notice a video file that is present in the online version on the right, but missing on the synchronized device on the left. This is normal: the file name, which comes from the macOS environment, is incompatible with Windows because it contains the “:” character, which is not allowed. If you encounter this type of problem, open the Activities section to view the operations in progress, the recently processed files, and any errors reported by the application:

  1. A red dot appears on the kDrive Windows app…
  2. A solution is proposed: rename the file:
  3. Clicking the button takes you to kDrive Web so you can rename the file:
  4. Once renamed, the missing synchronization will occur, and an activity notification will appear in the bottom right corner of your screen:
  5. The error disappears in the Activity section of the kDrive Windows app:
  6. And the file is now synchronized and visible on all devices:

 

Manage files excluded from synchronization

kDrive v4 allows you to view existing automatic exclusions and create your own exclusion rules:

  1. Click on Settings.
  2. Click on Synchronization rules:
  3. The list that appears when you click on the chevron represents the files that are ignored by default by kDrive, and the corresponding rules cannot be modified.
    • The files that are excluded by default (items in the list that cannot be deleted) vary depending on the OS and are excluded because they represent a risk of synchronization errors.
  4. Custom exclusion rules: these allow you to specify which name (or which part of a name) should never be synchronized, including in the file name extension (type) if necessary:
  5. To create a custom exclusion, click the Add rule button, then enter the term you want to exclude from all synchronization:
    • wav will only exclude files that are named exactly wav (a file wav.txt will not be excluded).
    • .wav will only exclude files that are named exactly .wav (a file test.wav will not be excluded).
    • *.wav will exclude all files that end with .wav. For example, test.wav will be excluded, but not test.wav.2.
    • *wav* will exclude all files that contain wav. For example, fichier-wav-audio.mp3 will be excluded.
  6. Enable the checkbox if necessary to receive a notification when a synchronization excludes a file for the reason you have configured.
  7. The rule is displayed, and you can simply select it to delete it if needed. You can also click the toggle switch to enable or disable notifications when this type of exclusion occurs:

 

This information will be gradually added to the existing guides – these will be updated as soon as possible during the deployment of kDrive v4.


Has this FAQ been helpful?