Knowledge base
1000 FAQs, 500 tutorials and instructional videos. Here, there are only solutions!
Understanding kDrive folders (personal, shared, and common)
This guide details the structure of Infomaniak kDrive: online interface, menus for managing and finding your shares, the purpose and meaning of the default folders, etc.
Introduction
- This guide applies to the web app kDrive (online service ksuite.infomaniak.com/kdrive).
- The desktop app kDrive (desktop application on macOS / Windows / Linux) is not directly affected (and will display some elements differently, or not at all).
- The mobile app (application for iOS / Android smartphones or tablets) is similar in terms of menu organization (with some specific features, such as offline files, for example).
- The Shared folders and the Sharing menu are only visible with certain multi-user plans.
- Do not rename or move the folders created by default neither on the web version, nor locally, as this causes synchronization issues.
- To quickly access the various features/operations, right-click on your files.
3 main elements
The kDrive interface features a left-hand menu that takes you to your kDrive data, including these 3 main elements:
1. Organization folders: shared by all members of your organization
This folder displays the tree structure of folders that are automatically shared with certain or all users of the same kDrive; if they contain documents, they will be displayed in the center of the interface:
If you create a new folder here, you can choose to share it with the entire Organization (all kDrive users) or only with a few users/groups, who will then need to request access if necessary:
2. My folder: personal & private folder by default
This folder displays the directory structure of the folders specific to the user: each kDrive user has their own personal space that will not be automatically shared with other users of the same kDrive:
Any existing documents will be displayed in the center of the interface.
3. Sharing
The Sharing menu leads to 4 sub-menus displayed in the left-hand menu:
- Items shared with you by other kDrive users, among the kDrives to which you have access with your login credentials.
- Items that you share with other users.
- Items that you have shared by creating a public sharing link
- Drop boxes

Any existing items will be displayed in the center of the interface and can be modified/deleted.
Refer to this other guide regarding the behavior of these shared folders in the desktop app.
Secondary elements
My favorites
This menu groups together your files and folders defined as favorites on kDrive, which you can then find in the web app…
… and the mobile app:
My latest changes
This menu displays the latest operations performed by your user: 
This allows you to quickly return to recently modified files, even if their location is scattered across different subfolders in your kDrive. You can also select these files to move or delete them in bulk.
Trash
This menu leads to your deleted data, which can still be restored:
Categories
You can also quickly access your files if they are categorized using the Categories menu by clicking on the different categories listed there:
Define the default display when starting
You can choose which home page to use when starting navigation within kDrive online, from the following 3 options:
- your personal folder
- the shared documents folder
- favorites (which groups together the documents added as favorites by your user)
To access kDrive and modify the home page:
- Click here to access your product management in the Infomaniak Manager (need help?).
- Click on the Settings icon in the top right corner.
- Check or select the relevant kDrive from the dropdown menu in the left sidebar.
- Click on General in the left sidebar.
- Choose the page that should be displayed by default when accessing the homepage:

Restore the shared folder (synchronized on a computer)
If you accidentally delete the folder containing the data you share with all kDrive users ("Organization folders"), don't worry: it will automatically reappear. This is a special folder that cannot be moved, even on your computer:

If it doesn't reappear immediately, wait for any background tasks that are currently running to complete:

Link to this FAQ: https://faq.infomaniak.com/2410
Has this FAQ been helpful?