Knowledge base
1000 FAQs, 500 tutorials and instructional videos. Here, there are only solutions!
Restarting and resetting a Synology NAS
This guide explains how to restart and reset a Synology NAS (resetting the device is equivalent to restoring it to its factory settings) that you are renting from Infomaniak.
Introduction
- You can choose one of the following reset methods:
- SOFT RESET: Reset the administrator password and network settings
- A partial reset may be necessary if you no longer have access to the "
admin" account. - It allows you to recreate a password for the "admin" account…
- A partial reset may be necessary if you no longer have access to the "
- HARD RESET: Reset the operating system
- A full reset is necessary when there is no longer access to the admin account due to an incorrect configuration in the DSM firewall, etc.
- Resetting the DSM allows you to revert to the factory settings. This operation should not affect the data on the disks.
- SOFT RESET: Reset the administrator password and network settings
- Refer to the official guide on this topic.
Restart your Synology NAS
Please note: The restart will be performed by the Infomaniak team within 24 business hours.
Just like resetting, restarting is a manual process:
You can request a restart of your NAS from the Manager:
- Click here to access the management of your product in the Infomaniak Manager (need help?).
- Click directly on the name assigned to the product in question.
- Click on the Restart server button (in the Quick actions section).
Resetting the Synology NAS
Please note: The reset process is carried out by the Infomaniak team within 24 working hours.
You can request a reset of your NAS from the Manager:
- Click here to access the management of your product in the Infomaniak Manager (need help?).
- Click directly on the name assigned to the product in question.
- Click on the Reset server button (in the Quick actions section).
Once the reset is complete, reconnect using the "admin" user without entering a password, and then set a password immediately afterward.
Cancel the reset request
Once the reset has been requested, you need to wait, and a "in progress" indicator will appear on your dashboard. At the same location, you can request the cancellation of this reset if necessary.
Link to this FAQ: https://faq.infomaniak.com/2367
Has this FAQ been helpful?