Investors

Knowledge base

1000 FAQs, 500 tutorials and instructional videos. Here, there are only solutions!

Restarting and resetting a Synology NAS

Update 10/08/2026

This guide explains how to restart and reset a Synology NAS (resetting the device is equivalent to restoring it to its factory settings) that you are renting from Infomaniak.

 

Introduction

  • You can choose one of the following reset methods:
    1. SOFT RESET: Reset the administrator password and network settings
      • A partial reset may be necessary if you no longer have access to the "admin" account.
      • It allows you to recreate a password for the "admin" account.
    2. HARD RESET: Reset the operating system
      • A full reset is necessary when there is no longer access to the admin account due to an incorrect configuration in the DSM firewall.
      • Resetting the DSM allows you to revert to the factory settings. This operation does not delete data on the disks.
  • Refer to the official guide for more information.

 

Restart your Synology NAS

Please note: The Infomaniak team will process this request within 1 business day.

Just like resetting, restarting is done manually.

You can request a restart of your NAS from the Manager:

  1. Click here to access the management interface for your product in the Infomaniak Manager (need help?).
  2. Click directly on the name assigned to the product in question.
  3. Click on the Restart server button (in the Quick actions section).

 

Resetting the Synology NAS

Please note: the Infomaniak team will process this request within 1 business day.

You can request a reset of your NAS from the Manager:

  1. Click here to access the management interface for your product in the Infomaniak Manager (need help?).
  2. Click directly on the name assigned to the product in question.
  3. Click on the Reset server button (in the Quick actions section).

Once the reset is complete, log in with the "admin" user without a password, then set a new password.

 

Cancel the reset request

Once the reset is requested, the status “in progress” will appear on your dashboard. You can request cancellation of this process at any time from this location.


Has this FAQ been helpful?