Knowledge base

1000 FAQs, 500 tutorials and instructional videos. Here, there are only solutions!

Restarting and resetting a Synology NAS

Update 08/11/2026

This guide explains how to restart and reset a Synology NAS (resetting the device is equivalent to restoring it to its factory settings) that you are renting from Infomaniak.

 

Introduction

  • You can choose one of the following reset methods:
    1. SOFT RESET: Reset the administrator password and network settings
      • A partial reset may be necessary if you no longer have access to the "admin" account.
      • It allows you to recreate a password for the "admin" account…
    2. HARD RESET: Reset the operating system
      • A full reset is necessary when there is no longer access to the admin account due to an incorrect configuration in the DSM firewall, etc.
      • Resetting the DSM allows you to revert to the factory settings. This operation should not affect the data on the disks.
  • Refer to the official guide on this topic.

 

Restart your Synology NAS

Please note: The restart will be performed by the Infomaniak team within 24 business hours.

Just like resetting, restarting is a manual process:

You can request a restart of your NAS from the Manager:

  1. Click here to access the management of your product in the Infomaniak Manager (need help?).
  2. Click directly on the name assigned to the product in question.
  3. Click on the Restart server button (in the Quick actions section).

 

Resetting the Synology NAS

Please note: The reset process is carried out by the Infomaniak team within 24 working hours.

You can request a reset of your NAS from the Manager:

  1. Click here to access the management of your product in the Infomaniak Manager (need help?).
  2. Click directly on the name assigned to the product in question.
  3. Click on the Reset server button (in the Quick actions section).

Once the reset is complete, reconnect using the "admin" user without entering a password, and then set a password immediately afterward.

 

Cancel the reset request

Once the reset has been requested, you need to wait, and a "in progress" indicator will appear on your dashboard. At the same location, you can request the cancellation of this reset if necessary.


Has this FAQ been helpful?