Knowledge base

1000 FAQs, 500 tutorials and instructional videos. Here, there are only solutions!

Restore kDrive to a previous state

Update 08/13/2026

This guide explains how to revert to a previous state in the organization of your kDrive files, especially if changes have been made and you have lost track.

 

✘ UNAVAILABLE with
kSuite Free
my kSuite (ik.me, etik.com, ikmail.com) 


 

Introduction

  • The restore or Rewind function allows you to revert to a previous state, like a time machine, and restore the order of the files of your choice or your entire kDrive up to 3 months in the past (linked to the file version retention period).
  • Files permanently deleted from your kDrive trash and deleted file versions cannot be restored.
  • Restoration may take several minutes, during which kDrive will be inaccessible to all users, depending on the volume of data to be recovered.
  • No action is performed on permissions and sharing settings.

 

Access the kDrive restore tool

Prerequisites

To open the restore interface:

  1. Click here to access the Infomaniak kDrive web app (online service ksuite.infomaniak.com/kdrive).
  2. Click on the Settings icon in the top right corner.
  3. Check or select the relevant kDrive from the drop-down menu in the left-hand menu.
  4. Click on Restore:
  5. Read the information on the screen, then click the button to start:
  6. Read the information in the modal window and then click the button to confirm.
  7. Choose what will be affected by the rollback (the entire kDrive or only a part of it, and if so, for which user).
  8. Click on Continue:
  9. Choose the date to which you want to revert (maximum 3 months / 90 days).
  10. Click on Continue:
  11. Start the analysis in the next step:
    • If going back does not produce any results, the analysis will indicate this, and you can specify another date:
  12. Then determine the next steps based on the proposed result:
  13. A final security request will appear before the restoration begins:

After the operation, an email is sent

and a notification is displayed on the online kDrive:

 

Analysis report

An administrator viewing a report for a restore initiated by another administrator will not see all the information related to the initiating administrator's personal account:

In the analysis report view, the data is listed and grouped according to the current location before the rollback.

 

In case of conflict

A folder named "Restore (date and time)" will be created in the root of the administrator's kDrive (or in the relevant user's account). This folder will contain a subfolder with the conflicting files, called "Conflict", and another folder for the files that currently exist in the target location, called “Later elements”.


Has this FAQ been helpful?